Schools awarded for honouring peacekeepers

The Hon Matt Keogh MP
Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister for Defence Personnel

Schools around the nation have been praised for their creative projects honouring Australian peacekeepers as part of the annual Anzac Day Schools’ Awards.

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Matt Keogh said the national competition is an exciting opportunity for students to engage with veterans and learn more about Australia’s wartime history.

“This year’s theme was chosen to complement the 75th anniversary of Australia’s involvement in international peacekeeping operations, which we commemorated this week,” Minister Keogh said.

“The students in the winning schools took the theme to heart by engaging with former and current peacekeepers in a variety of ways, and genuinely reflected on the courage and sacrifice involved with the unique nature of peacekeeping service.”

“The National Winner, St Joseph’s College in Lochinvar New South Wales, undertook an incredible range of activities, including a handmade 'Dove Honour Roll' and a school version of the Tree of Peace at the Peace Palace, complete with handwritten messages gathered from across the school community.”

“I’d like to congratulate the winning schools, but also all schools that took part – your commitment to acknowledging service is commendable. I also want to thank the teachers who worked with students and coordinated the entries for their schools, you have done a great job. ” 

The judges were particularly impressed with the range of innovative projects, including websites, videos, artwork, songs, podcasts and poetry.

A list of all the award-winning schools is included below. For more information on the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards visit the Anzac portal.  

Media contacts

Stephanie Mathews (Minister Keogh’s Office): +61 407 034 485
DVA Media:

Authorised by The Hon Matt Keogh MP.

Open Arms – Veterans & Families Counselling provides 24/7 free confidential crisis support for current and ex-serving ADF personnel and their families on 1800 011 046 or the Open Arms website. Safe Zone Support provides anonymous counselling on 1800 142 072. Defence All-Hours Support Line provides support for ADF personnel on 1800 628 036 or the Defence Health Portal. Defence Member and Family Helpline provides support for Defence families on 1800 624 608

Award School Name State Primary/Secondary
National Winner ($5,000) St Joseph’s College, Lochinvar NSW Secondary
ACT State Winner ($3,000) Charnwood-Dunlop School, Charnwood ACT Primary
NSW State Winner ($3,000) Al-Faisal College, Liverpool NSW Primary and Secondary
NT State Winner ($3,000) Mother Teresa Catholic Primary School, Zuccoli NT Primary
QLD State Winner ($3,000) St Philomena School, Park Ridge QLD Primary and Secondary
TAS State Winner ($3,000) Rosebery District School, Rosebery TAS Primary and Secondary
Joint VIC State Winner ($3,000) Upwey South Primary School, Upwey VIC Primary
Joint VIC State Winner ($3,000) Wodonga Primary School, Wodonga VIC Primary
WA State Winner ($3,000) Mount Magnet District High School, Mount Magnet WA Secondary
Brigadier Bill Rolfe AOAward for Veteran Involvement ($2,000) St Joseph’s College, Lochinvar NSW Secondary
Award for Innovative Commemoration ($2,000) St Philomena School, Park Ridge QLD Primary and Secondary
Award for Creative Use of Technology ($2,000) Spring Mountain State School, Spring Mountain QLD Primary
Remote Schools Award ($2,000) Rosebery District School, Rosebery TAS Primary and Secondary
Specialist Educational Setting ($2,000) Forest Primary School, Forest TAS Primary