Friday, 14 August 2015

Senator the Hon. Michael Ronaldson
Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC
Special Minister of State


Schools from the Australian Capital Territory (ACT) and Queensland are the national winners in this year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards, the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC, Senator the Hon. Michael Ronaldson, announced today. 

Senator Ronaldson and Senator Seselja will attend Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School, the National and ACT Winners in the primary school category, to make the announcement this morning.

“I am delighted to announce that Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School in the ACT and William Ross State High School in Queensland have won their respective state/territory and national categories in this year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards,” Senator Ronaldson said.

“I congratulate these schools on their outstanding efforts to encourage students to learn more about the service and sacrifice of those who have served our nation.

“These schools should feel particularly proud to have been judged national winners in the year of the 100th anniversary of the Gallipoli landings,” Senator Ronaldson said.

Senator Seselja said the National and ACT Primary School Winner, Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School, had been recognised for its innovative approach to educating young people about Australia’s history of service.

“The Good Shepherd Catholic School undertook a wide variety of innovative learning activities that allowed students to imagine life on the frontline during the First World War,” Senator Seselja said.

“This program helped students develop skills of empathy and understanding. Current serving members of the Australian Defence Force also participated in the school’s commemorative activities.”

The National and Queensland Secondary School Winner, William Ross State High School, offered each year level a different activity to contribute to the commemoration of the Centenary of Anzac. Senior students impressed the judges by recreating First World War photographs and matching them with a character trait and a quote that showed the spirit of the Anzacs.

Senator Ronaldson said the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards—now in their 15th yearhelped school children across Australia to understand the significance of commemoration and the meaning of Anzac Day.

“As we commemorate the centenary of the First World War from 2014 to 2018, the Awards take on even greater significance,” Senator Ronaldson said.

“Schools play a vital role in teaching the current generation about our wartime history and the importance of the Anzac story.

“This year, I announced a new special category in the Awards: Best Anzac Centenary Learning. I am pleased to announce that the winner of this inaugural award is Riverton Primary Campus in Western Australia,” Senator Ronaldson said.

The Minister thanked all the schools who entered the Awards and praised the students for their efforts.

“I encourage schools across Australia to enter the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards in 2016 and continue their meaningful learning experiences during the Anzac Centenary period.”

For more information on the Anzac Day Schools’ Awards visit

Media enquiries:

Minister Ronaldson: Mark Lee 02 6277 7820 or 0408 547 381

Senator Seselja: Emily Hicks 02 6247 6444 or 0427 839 164

Department of Veterans’ Affairs Media: 02 6289 6203

2015 Anzac Day Schools’ Awards
William Ross State High School*, Townsville QLD $1,000
Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School*, Amaroo ACT $1,000
St Edmund's College, Canberra ACT $2,000
St Patrick's College, Campbelltown NSW $2,000
Casuarina Senior College, Darwin NT $2,000
William Ross State High School*, Townsville QLD $2,000
Lock Area School, Lock SA $2,000
Deloraine High School, Deloraine TAS $2,000
St Joseph's College Geelong, Geelong VIC $2,000
Rossmoyne Senior High School, Rossmoyne WA $2,000
Merici College, Braddon ACT $500
Coffs Harbour Christian Community School, Coffs Harbour NSW $500
Darwin High School, Darwin NT $500
Tannum Sands State High School, Tannum Sands QLD $500
Yankalilla Area School, Yankalilla SA $500
Riverside High School, Riverside TAS $500
Mentone Girls' Secondary College, Beaumaris VIC $500
Comet Bay College, Secret Harbour WA $500
Good Shepherd Catholic Primary School*, Amaroo ACT $2,000
St John Vianney's Parish School, Doonside NSW $2,000
St Joseph's Catholic College Katherine, Katherine NT $2,000
Bloomsbury State School, Bloomsbury QLD $2,000
Prospect Primary School, Prospect SA $2,000
Latrobe Primary School, Latrobe TAS $2,000
Diamond Creek East Primary School, Diamond Creek VIC $2,000
Byford John Calvin Primary School, Byford WA $2,000
Rosary Primary School, Watson ACT $500
Bligh Park Public School, Bligh Park NSW $500
Girraween Primary School, Girraween NT $500
Eagleby South State School, Eagleby QLD $500
St Joseph's Primary School, Rosebery TAS $500
Virginia Primary School, Virginia SA $500
Wilmot Road Primary School, Shepparton VIC $500
Kingston Primary School, Kingston WA $500
Best Innovative Activity - Haddon Primary School, Haddon VIC $1,000
Best Local History Research - Evans River K-12 School, Evans Head NSW $1,000
Best Veteran & Community Involvement - Yuluma Primary School, Innaloo WA $1,000
Best Use of Technology - Moreland Primary School, Melbourne VIC $1,000
Best Commemorative Art – Elliott School, Elliott NT $1,000
Best Anzac Centenary Learning - Riverton Primary Campus, Riverton WA $1,000

*National winners were selected from state/territory winners.

Veterans and Veterans Families Counselling Service (VVCS) and Veterans Line can be reached 24 hours a day across Australia for crisis support and free and confidential counselling. Phone 1800 011 046

PDF version (327 KB)