Minister announces Anzac Day Schools’ Awards winners

Monday, October 24 2016

The Hon Dan Tehan MP
Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister for Defence Personnel
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Cyber Security
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC

A Primary School from the ACT and two High Schools from Victoria are the national winners of this year’s Anzac Day Schools’ Awards.

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs Dan Tehan today announced that Kaleen Primary School in Kaleen, ACT, was the National and ACT Primary School Winner and St Joseph’s College and Clonard College in Geelong, Victoria, shared the National and Victorian Secondary School prize.

The Anzac Day Schools' Awards promote initiative and creativity in the way schools commemorate Anzac Day. This year, 68 schools from around Australia entered. Each state and territory winner will receive $2,000 and the national winners will receive an additional $1,000 to the state prize.

St Joseph’s College and Clonard College came together for a full day of commemoration and learning to remember Anzac Day and the 50th Anniversary of the Battle of Long Tan.

Activities included a formal ceremony with a keynote address by a veteran who spoke about keeping the Anzac spirit alive and a choice of 22 workshops that offered a visit to a Royal Australian Air Force museum, packing duffle bags, organising rations, simulating a Kokoda trek, making Anzac biscuits and looking at wartime photography.

Kaleen Primary School focused its learning about Anzac Day on the question, ‘What is the Anzac spirit and why is it still relevant in 2016?’

Their response included Year 6 students using a range of fictional texts to design and lead lessons for younger students on the importance of commemorating Anzac Day, creating a permanent Anzac Remembrance garden and, in partnership with the local Returned and Services League, buying Flanders poppy seeds, Gallipoli rosemary seeds and a Gallipoli Rose.

“As a nation it is important that we never forget the service and sacrifice of the men and women who serve in defence of our country,” Mr Tehan said.

“Central to keeping that memory alive is instilling respect for our wartime history and an understanding of the importance of Anzac Day.

“I commend every student and every school that took part in this year’s Anzac Day Schools Awards for the respect they have shown to our veterans and those Australians who have paid the ultimate sacrifice.

“Congratulations to the winning schools that displayed great initiative and creativity in commemorating Anzac Day and helping students to understand more deeply the significance of Anzac Day and its importance to us all.”

For more information on the Awards visit

Editor's note: A full list of winners and runners-up in each state and territory is attached.

Media enquiries:

Minister Tehan’s Office: Byron Vale, 0428 262 894

Department of Veterans’ Affairs Media: 02 6289 6203

2016 Anzac Day Schools’ Awards
St Joseph’s College, Geelong and Clonard College* VIC
Kaleen Primary School* ACT
Merici College ACT
John Therry Catholic High School NSW
Darwin High School NT
Malanda State High School QLD
St Michael’s College, Adelaide SA
Rose Bay High School TAS
St Joseph’s College, Geelong and Clonard College* VIC
Comet Bay College WA
St Clare’s College ACT
Merewether High School NSW
Rosebery Middle School NT
Ryan Catholic College Townsville QLD
Kildare College SA
Alkira Secondary College VIC
St Mary's College Broome WA
Kaleen Primary School* ACT
St John Vianney's Parish School Doonside NSW
Durack Primary School NT
West Moreton Anglican College QLD
Colonel Light Gardens Primary School SA
St Patrick’s Primary School, Kilmore VIC
Bicton Primary School WA
St John Vianney’s Primary School ACT
Jerrabomberra Public School NSW
Bakewell Primary School NT
Albany Creek State School QLD
Virginia Primary School, Virginia SA
Ferny Creek Primary School VIC
Karratha Primary School WA
Best Innovative Activity - Ntaria School NT
Best Local History Research - Blue Mountains Grammar School NSW
Brigadier Bill Rolfe AO Best Veteran & Community Involvement - Jerrabomberra Primary School NSW
Best Use of Technology - Bongongo Public School NSW
Best Commemorative Art – Kingston Primary School WA
Best Anzac Centenary Learning - Leeming Senior High School, Education Support Centre WA

*National winners were selected from state/territory winners.

Veterans and Veterans Families Counselling Service (VVCS) can be reached 24 hours a day across Australia for crisis support and free confidential counselling. Phone 1800 011 046 (international: +61 8 8241 4546). VVCS is a service founded by Vietnam veterans.