Skip to navigation

Media releases

The Hon Darren Chester MP
Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister for Defence Personnel
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC


7 September 2018

Appointment of members to the Veterans' Review Board

MINISTER for Veterans' Affairs Darren Chester today announced that the Governor-General His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Ret'd) has appointed five new members and reappointed five members to the Veterans' Review Board (VRB).

The VRB is an independent tribunal that reviews decisions about Repatriation pensions (other than Service Pensions) and attendant allowance.

Mr Chester said the five new members appointed to the VRB are Colonel Catherine Carrigan, Major John Jeremy Lewis, Dr Judith Harte, Dr Leith Shane Henry and Ms Amanda MacDonald.

Colonel Evan Carlin, Dr Peter Salu, Group Captain Anne Trengove, Colonel David Collins and Major Jennifer Ann Walker have all been reappointed.

"The members being appointed and reappointed have an outstanding history of achievement in their fields and I am confident that each member will serve the veteran community with distinction in this important role," Mr Chester said.

"The VRB plays a vital role in ensuring veterans receive all the benefits and payments to which they are entitled.

"I congratulate all the appointees and look forward to their contribution to the important work of the VRB."

Biographies of the appointees are available on the VRB website <>.



Whil Prendergast: 02 6277 7820
DVA Media: 02 6289 6466
Office of the Hon Darren Chester MP, Canberra


Open Arms – Veterans and Families Counselling provides support for current and ex-serving ADF personnel and their families. Free and confidential help is available 24/7. Phone 1800 011 046 (international: +61 8 8241 4546) or visit