Skip to navigation

Previous Ministers' releases and speeches - The Hon Dan Tehan MP


The Hon Dan Tehan MP
Minister for Veterans' Affairs
Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC

Minister for Defence Materiel

Senator The Hon Simon Birmingham MP
Minister for Education and Training

Tuesday, 15 March 2016

Students Honoured in Annual Simpson Prize

The Minister for Veterans’ Affairs and Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for the Centenary of Anzac, Dan Tehan, today presented awards to the winners and runners-up in the Australian Government’s 2016 Simpson Prize.

“The Simpson Prize is a prestigious national history competition and whether a winner or a runner up, all the students who have participated should be very proud of their achievements,” Minister Tehan said.

“This annual Prize is a terrific opportunity for year 9 and 10 students to engage in and learn more about the Anzac story and heritage.

“As part of the award, the eight talented winners will attend the Anzac Day commemorative service in Gallipoli in April this year.”

Minister for Education and Training Simon Birmingham said there had been an overwhelming level of interest from students for the 2016 Simpson Prize. Students were asked to submit an essay or audio visual presentation about the Australian Anzac tradition each year.

“We had more than 1,000 students submit an essay or audio-visual presentation this year, all focused on the prominence of the Gallipoli landing in the Anzac story and what other events or experiences should get more attention,” Minister Birmingham said.

“I would like to thank the History Teachers’ Association of Australia for their tireless behind-the-scenes work in promoting this competition to schools across Australia, receiving entries and selecting this year’s fine group of winners and runners-up.”

Each winner and runner-up received a medallion and a certificate to acknowledge their achievements. In addition, they are attending a two-day educational programme at national institutions in Canberra, including the presentation ceremony at Parliament House.

The Australian Government currently provides $606,000 over three years to the History Teachers’ Association of Australia to manage the Simpson Prize on behalf of the Department of Education.

For more information about the awards visit A list of winners and runners-up is attached.

Media enquiries:

  • Minister Birmingham Office: James Murphy 0478 333 974, Nick Creevey 0447 644 957
  • Minister Tehan’s Office: 0477 395 356
  • Department of Veterans’ Affairs Media: 02 6289 6203
Winning Entries 2016
Simpson Prize Winner School State
Lauren Park Pymble Ladies’ College New South Wales
Hilary Briggs Stuartholme School Queensland
Hibra Shujaat Mitcham Girls High School South Australia
Sarah Pilgrim Rose Bay High School Tasmania
Felix Cousins Camberwell High School Victoria
Samai King Cue Primary School and Gifted and Talented School Online Western Australia
Morgan Gurry Darwin Middle School Northern Territory
Annie Liao Radford College ACT

Runner-up Entries 2016
Simpson Prize Runner-up School State
Juliette Marchant Loreto Kirribilli New South Wales
Megghann Thomas Mt St Michaels School Queensland
Samuel Doering Faith Lutheran College South Australia
Sophia Bellears Rose Bay High School Tasmania
Claire Corbel Flinders Christian Community College Victoria
Ella Girdler St Hilda’s Anglican School for Girls Western Australia
Bryn Pickering Katherine High School Northern Territory
Angus Dale Marist College Canberra ACT

Veterans and Veterans Families Counselling Service (VVCS) can be reached 24 hours a day across Australia for crisis support and free confidential counselling. Phone 1800 011 046 (international: +61 8 8241 4546). VVCS is a service founded by Vietnam veterans.